If, like me, you’re a fan of mountain bike racing, then hopefully this blog should be of some interest to you. I hope to sift through the numerous content streams from magazines, websites, social media and anecdotal musings (from Fort William this year, at least), and provide a comprehensive review of the goings on from the World Cup circuit, from riders and teams, to bikes and calendar changes. I also hope to offer some opinion, discussion points, humour and rumours following the races, and should I make a mistake or say something you disagree with, please feel free to fight me in the comments; I love an argument!

Before we get started proper, a bit about me: I’m a 24 year old inhabitant of Sheffield who works a standard 8-5, Mon-Fri in order to ride at weekends. I’ve always followed the World Cup,through regular updates on Pinkbike, Dirt, MBUK, Vital MTB and Descent World, and even tried my hand a racing DH when I was at uni. I use “race” in its most tenuous of forms; during my 4 years there I rode at student champs twice, and spent the rest of the time injured or riding horrendously slowly. Nowadays it’s just riding for fun, with the odd enduro thrown in for good measure, pretending for a few moments that I can hold a candle to the quick lads.

I hope this gives a bit of insight into who I am and what form this blog will take, but I’m sure a lot more will come spilling out as the season progresses, and who knows, maybe some of you will enjoy it! There’s now 3 months to go until the first round at Lourdes, so I’ll begin with a few team changes, rider updates, and comments on how training and national races are going in the build up to the 2017 season.

Cheers for making it this far, it’s only going to get better from here!

Dave

Leave a Reply

